Our brand takes the name of a pioneer in crystal production:
Hill came to Waterford in 1783, bringing with him an immense knowledge of glass chemistry and a creative talent that would continue to influence the production of lead crystal. Hill fled dramatically in 1786 after only three years in Ireland. But before he left he passed on his 'Standard', a unique formula for compounding glass and subsequently Hill's influence was felt for generations.
Our brand is inspired by the story of this maverick and impactful individual. Hill's legacy of innovation and creativity in cut crystal lives on in J. HILL's Standard.